Agar

Agar is a gelling agent of natural origin extracted from red algae (Gelidium, Gracilaria species).

Agar is a gelling agent of natural origin extracted from red algae (Gelidium, Gracilaria species). It has been used in Japan since the 16th century to make certain traditional pastries such as yokan. It makes it possible to produce firm gels from all types of aqueous liquids.

Properties: gelling agent

RECIPES WITH AGAR

Fluid lime gel

Strawberry pearls

Fresh apple inserts

Trompe l’oeil egg

TECHNICAL SHEETS

Spherification techniques

Recommended dosage: 0.5 - 2%. Recommended use: • Disperse Agar in the cold liquid preparation • You can facilitate dispersion with the pre-mixed Agar and a part of powdered sugar from the recipe • Bring this preparation to a boil and boil it for at least 1 minute to ensure optimum hydration and homogeneous gelation. • Pour the hot preparation into the mould and cool quickly for a fast and homogeneous gel setting.

Typical applications include: fruit paste, marmalade, fruit inserts and fillings for baked pastries.

Comments / Limitations: Agar is a material sensitive to hydrolysis. Prolonged heating of a rather acidic preparation (pH <4) could affect gel absorption during cooling. In these cases, you can try to reduce the phenomenon by reducing the acidity of the preparation using Sodium CI or simply increase the dosage of Agar. Agar is not compatible with alcoholbased preparations. Gels produced with Agar are not freeze resistant but are more or less cooking resistant. It can therefore easily be used for fruit inserts and fillings in pastry products (cake, financier, etc.) but is not recommended for frozen/deep frozen dessert fruit inserts. It also produces rather opaque gels.

Agar

Agar est un gélifiant d’origine naturelle extrait d’algues rouges (espèces Gelidium, Gracilaria...).

Agar est un gélifiant d’origine naturelle extrait d’algues rouges (espèces Gelidium, Gracilaria…). Il est utilisé au Japon depuis le XVIème siècle pour la confection de certaines pâtisseries traditionnelles tel que  es yokan.
Il permet de réaliser des gels fermes à partir de tous types de liquides aqueux.
Propriétés : gélifiant

RECETTES AVEC AGAR

Gel fluide de citron

Perles de fraise

Insert de pommes fraîches

Oeuf en trompe l’oeil

FICHES THÉMATIQUES

Techniques de sphérification

Dosage recommandé : 0,5 - 2% Préconisation d’emploi : • Disperser Agar dans la préparation liquide à froid • Un pré-mélange d’Agar avec une partie du sucre en poudre de la recette peut faciliter la dispersion • Porter à ébullition cette préparation et l’y maintenir au minimum 1 minute afin de garantir une hydratation optimum et une gélification homogène • Couler la préparation chaude dans le moule et refroidir rapidement pour une prise de gel rapide et homogène

Exemples d’applications types : pâte de fruit, marmelade, inserts et fourrages de fruits pour pâtisseries cuites Commentaire / Limites : Agar est une matière sensible à l’hydrolyse. Une chauffe prolongée d’une préparation plutôt acide (pH <4) pourrait nuire à la prise de gel lors du refroidissement. Dans ces cas là, vous pouvez essayer d’atténuer le phénomène en réduisant l’acidité de la préparation à l’aide de Sodium CI ou tout simplement augmenter le osage d’Agar. Agar n’est pas compatible avec les préparations à base d’alcool. Les gels produits avec Agar ne sont pas stables à la congélation mais sont plutôt stable à la cuisson. Il peut donc aisément être utilisé pour des inserts et fourrages de fruit dans des produits de pâtisserie (cake, financiers ...) mais n’est pas recommandé pour les inserts de fruit pour entremets surgelés/congelés. Il produit par ailleurs des gels plutôt opaques.